Author Topic: Digestive Enzymes, Good or Bad?  (Read 2417 times)

Offline BeckPo

• Yapper
Digestive Enzymes, Good or Bad?
« on: September 01, 2016, 12:44:55 PM »
I've been buying kibble for more than 6 years and my vet recommended switching to a raw diet because of some issues we've been having. She recommended Darwin's or Primal. I tried a sample of Darwin and my dog just wouldn't have it. Then I tried the primal food and my dog went crazy over it. But, since we switched shes been licking her lips a lot. I noticed her kibble before had digestive enzymes, is it possible that my dog has gotten use to the enzymes helping break down food and now cannot do it herself?

I will ask my vet soon if I should supplement the raw food with the digestive enzymes, but I just wanted to see if anyone else has seen this before. I don't want to switch back to kibble because the raw has really helped with her skin...so I just want to make it work and keep her on raw.

Offline Pookie

• Charter Member
  • Motor Mouth
  • Proud member of the Wet Food Club
Re: Digestive Enzymes, Good or Bad?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2016, 04:30:32 PM »
I've been buying kibble for more than 6 years and my vet recommended switching to a raw diet because of some issues we've been having. She recommended Darwin's or Primal. I tried a sample of Darwin and my dog just wouldn't have it. Then I tried the primal food and my dog went crazy over it. But, since we switched shes been licking her lips a lot. I noticed her kibble before had digestive enzymes, is it possible that my dog has gotten use to the enzymes helping break down food and now cannot do it herself?

I will ask my vet soon if I should supplement the raw food with the digestive enzymes, but I just wanted to see if anyone else has seen this before. I don't want to switch back to kibble because the raw has really helped with her skin...so I just want to make it work and keep her on raw.

First, welcome to our forum!  :)