Author Topic: A Farmers perspective on grain  (Read 1088 times)

Offline Shadow

• Charter Member
  • Motor Mouth
  • Just say no to Kibble Krack
A Farmers perspective on grain
« on: August 12, 2011, 01:09:08 PM »
Taken from petconnection.com   some names have been omitted for privacy.
This was written in 2007 and it sure is an eye opener.

"As I read your posts that you are upset for the government for not revealing the source of the contaminated grain product in the pet food is because they probably do not know. This country does not have any mandatory country of origin labeling laws. I am a farmer in eastern Iowa that grows corn, soybeans, oats and some wheat. Although there have been some new traceability laws passed in the last few years farmers in the US are exempt from them. When I deliver a load of grain to a processor I am never asked where the grain is from. Most of the grain I produce goes into the human food supply and is processed in Cedar Rapids Iowa by Quaker Oats, ADM and Cargill. All of these large processors do have a policy on Grain grading for quality of the grain based on federal standards. But nowhere in the grading process is it ever asked if the grain was treated with any pesticide or other chemicals. The only test for this is by smell by the guy that runs the sample. On the rare occasion that I over treat a load of grain with an insecticide for bugs and get rejected for smell I just take it to the next processor down the road and hope that guy has a cold that day. The same holds true for aflatoxin tests. This is a test that is randomly done on grain samples. Some places are more stringent than others but it is still a random test. The bottom line on this is that I can usually drive around the block and get in line again and won’t be checked the next time through. The worst case is that I will have to drive to another processor to get rid of it.