Author Topic: Large breed puppy food?  (Read 5083 times)

Offline Amber

• Charter Member
  • Chatter Bug
Large breed puppy food?
« on: March 06, 2014, 11:19:00 PM »
Since it is official that River staying now, I need some help. Based on my research, coonhounds can get up to 80lbs. I have no Idea what River is mixed with, and I know that the size of her paws isn't an entirely accurate indicator, but I think she is going to be pretty big. So.... large breed puppy food? She is going to have to eat mostly commercial food, at least in the beginning. Right now I have a bag of Merrick Whole Earth Farms puppy food... I didn't think she would be staying with me long-term, needed to grab something quick, and she showed up between paychecks. I need to get her some appropriate food, and I have NO experience with large breeds. There is some research that indicates that a raw diet may not be so great for large breed dogs until they are older. Probably bogus, but I don't want to screw up the calcium amount and cause her problems. From what I have seen, Orijen Large Breed Puppy seems to be the best, but I am open to suggestions.

Also, and this is the wrong place for this, but... I am getting her used to a collar right now, so she has a generic little breakaway safety collar on, but when I start least training her, should she have a Martingale collar? A front clip harness?

Offline DeeDee

• P-F's Twitter-er
  • Charter Member
  • Motor Mouth
  • Barkly & Vlad
Re: Large breed puppy food?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2014, 11:39:49 PM »
To help you understand the difference in larger breed dogs from smaller breeds, I'm going to send you to where we were sent when Vlad developed his shoulder problem.

The Great Dane lady specializes in raising larger breeds, and she's got several options for feeding a large-breed puppy to adulthood.