Non Species Specific Furkid Topics > Reaching One Furkid Parent At A Time...

First time cat owner need help with kitten

(1/23) > >>

LeFlame:
Hi everyone this is my first time having a cat the only problem is I'm not sure if it's normal for her to hide and growl at me.She is a 9 week orange tabby well that's what how old the animal shelter thinks  she is.Anyway I've had Lea for 4 days now and she is still very scared I have to be on my bed or out of the room for her to come out.She is eating well and using the litter but is scared to death when she sees me looking at her or sees me in general.many people have told me to have Lea in a small quiet room but my house doesn't have a small or quiet room so I just have her in my room.I'm not sure if having her in my room makes a difference in her behavior.Tips or suggestions would be appreciated.

Middle Child:
Hello and welcome to PFK! Congratulations on your new baby girl Lea!

Keeping her in your room is fine. It's the one room that is the important thing, instead of many rooms.   Don't try to force interaction with her.  Hissing and growling is just her way of communicating to you that she is scared and uncertain.

How often are you in your room?  Do you have to be away for long periods?

If she comes out when you are on your bed, that is a good thing.  Talk to her in a soft voice so she can get used to you.  Use her name a lot and tell her how much you love her, how happy you are that she is there, and how much better she will feel in a while.

Very important for you to know that four days is a very very VERY short time, for any cat. Kittens sometimes do adjust quickly, but not all kittens, as you are discovering.  Some need weeks to adjust.  You are going to need to be very patient, but I assure you the rewards in the end, the feeling of winning a tiny innocent animal's trust, well it's indescribable.

You and Lea will have a really incredible bond.  But you must be very patient and go at her pace.

You'll see   :)