Author Topic: BEWARE Rimadyl!! Lawsuit Filed Against Pfizer  (Read 7158 times)

Offline The Kittens

• Charter Member
  • Chatter Bug
  • Respect-The-Star...Violators-Will-Be-Hung
BEWARE Rimadyl!! Lawsuit Filed Against Pfizer
« on: August 26, 2011, 04:11:55 PM »
Rimadyl is an anti inflammatory, NSAID I guess is the correct term, I have no knowledge of it. But apparently it has many side effects, which the pet owners were not told about, and their dog died, a golden lab, and apparently, Labs have genetic issues, which makes them more prone to issues.  

Every pet parent, needs to ASK, what are the side effects, of any drug, prescribed, and if you have a breed or breed type cat or dog, you need to be aware of what their genetic issues are.  

This is from Truth About Pet Foods, got it in an email today, here is the article, which earns Bump a bathy, on Catsfur, mol, I will put the comments in another post, apparently, I exceded the max allowed charcaters.    thumbsup1 Bumpurr1 TexasFlag survivorgif iwin bumpgif

Westword.com is reporting that pet owners Christopher Cooper and Shelley Smith have filed suit against drug manufacturer giant Pfizer.  The couple blame Rimadyl for the death of their six year old Golden Retriever Sophie.  

The Westword.com story states that after knee surgery on June 5th, Sophie was prescribed several medications including Rimadyl.  "Side effects were uncommon, the pair (owners) say they were told."  However just over a week later, Sophie began vomiting and stopped eating.  The owners were directed to end all medications.  But Sophie remained ill and tests "reportedly showed signs of Rimadyl toxicity".  

These pet parents went on a roller coaster ride of hospitalization, then home, signs of liver failure and finally took her to Colorado State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital trying to save Sophie's life.  More back and forth treatment but the story doesn't end well.  Sophie died on July 26th.