Author Topic: My aquarium  (Read 2289 times)

Offline Amber

• Charter Member
  • Chatter Bug
My aquarium
« on: November 25, 2013, 04:37:01 AM »
I just wanted to show my friends something I have been working on for a few months. Its a small thing, but I am stupidly proud of it.

After initial setup:

The tennant:

And now:

I am thinking about tearing up the moss and flattening it so that the stones are visible again... but I dunno. I kind of like the untamed look. I'll have to do it eventually though, or Serpent won't have any swimming room. It was a pain to get started, but now that its established, I don't really have to do much other than top off whatever water is lost to evaporation and feed the fish. I still test the water parameters to see if I need to change it, but I haven't needed to in quite a while; the plants do most of the cleaning for me. I had a couple of tiger nerite snails (gorgeous creatures) but my water was too soft and Serpent kept pestering them, so now he lives solo.

Offline DeeDee

• P-F's Twitter-er
  • Charter Member
  • Motor Mouth
  • Barkly & Vlad
Re: My aquarium
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 10:28:42 AM »
OMG! You have a black betta! That is an amazing looking environment for him. I agree. I think I'd keep it as wild as possible for a betta. They feel more at home. Just trim back as necessary for him to swim.
"In order to really enjoy a dog, one doesn't merely try to train him to be semihuman. The point of it is to open oneself to the possibility of becoming partly a dog." Edward Hoagland
"Thorns may hurt you, men desert you, sunlight turn to fog; but you're never friendless ever, if you have a dog."

Offline Shadow

• Charter Member
  • Motor Mouth
  • Just say no to Kibble Krack
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2013, 06:13:34 PM »
Love it Amber!! so nice!  thumbsup1
I on the other hand am still waiting to get over to the states to get a new tank.
No choice here for the type of rimless tank I want :(
This is the tank I am dreaming of