Author Topic: Kissing bugs and Chagas Disease in Dogs  (Read 1976 times)

Offline AnnStaub

• Chatter Bug
    • Pawsitively Pets
Kissing bugs and Chagas Disease in Dogs
« on: August 26, 2013, 01:25:57 AM »
So, I've heard of Chagas disease in dogs before and when I worked as a vet tech we treated at least one dog with it. It's a disease that dogs AND people can get from "kissing bugs". They are supposed to live further south, but have been moving into America lately.

I'm an Austin Pet Health Examiner and just got done writing an article about Chagas disease over there at this link - http://www.examiner.com/article/kissing-bugs-found-central-texas-could-carry-harmful-parasite-for-dogs

Anyways, I just found one of these kissing bugs in my room tonight and am freaked out now. I probably wouldn't have given the bug a second glance unless I had written that article last week. I've never seen one before and hope this was the last time! It has a very distinct pattern and I'm positive it's a kissing bug. It's hard to tell how big it is from the photo in the article, but it's approximately an inch long.

If you live in the South, keep an eye out for these things! For both you and your dog!

Offline DeeDee

• P-F's Twitter-er
  • Charter Member
  • Motor Mouth
  • Barkly & Vlad
Re: Kissing bugs and Chagas Disease in Dogs
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 10:18:23 AM »
WOW! Thank you for this information and taking time to write that article! I've never heard of the things before, and I hope I never see them here in Tennessee!

Do they think they'll migrate further north into the other southern states like fire-ants and Africanized-bees?
"In order to really enjoy a dog, one doesn't merely try to train him to be semihuman. The point of it is to open oneself to the possibility of becoming partly a dog." Edward Hoagland
"Thorns may hurt you, men desert you, sunlight turn to fog; but you're never friendless ever, if you have a dog."

Offline AnnStaub

• Chatter Bug